Text Size

Zeta Chapter (University of Southern California)

Zeta Chapter Welcomes New Members


The Zeta Chapter of OKU held its 90th annual convocation banquet on May 8, 2006 at Town and Gown on the campus of the University of Southern California. Zeta Chapter was established in 1916 and has a long tradition and distinguished history at USC, The evening was a celebration to honor our new alumni and faculty members as well as the recipients of our scholarships. Click images to enlarge.

Dean's Address
DEAN.jpgThe evening began with opening remarks by Dean Harold C. Slavkin describing for the new graduates a vision of their potential futures in our profession and encouraging them to reach or exceed their goals.
Guest Speaker
The guest speaker was Dr. Charles M. Goldstein, the Endowed Professor in Community Dentistry at USC. He has had an exemplary 62 year career in dentistry, including his involvement as an educator at USC since 1970. Initially, Dr. Goldstein directed the Mobile Clinic Program and, over the years he developed programs in Geriatric Dentistry, Practice Administration and Ethics and served as Chair of the departments of Practice Dynamics, Community Dentistry and Public Health. Currently, he is a Professor of Clinical Dentistry and Director of Community Outreach Programs. Since 1970, Dr. Goldstein has generated over $2,000,000 in funds and equipment for the geriatric and mobile clinic programs. He has been politically active in several professional organizations and has been elected to membership in, and received special awards from many of dentistry's honorary societies. In 2001 Dr. Goldstein was inducted into the USC Dental School Hall of Fame, and just recently, the USC Academic Senate presented him with its Distinguished Faculty Service Award. Dr. Goldstein gave an inspiring talk to those in attendance-
Zeta Chapter Scholarships
The Zeta Chapter of OKU awards seven $1,000 scholarships to 2nd, 3rd, and 4th year dental students who demonstrate that they are academically oriented, scholarly directed, and service and leadership inclined. Five of the scholarships were established as tributes to former faculty and OKU members. Drs. Everett Payne and Robert Wallin were Professors of Restorative Dentistry, Dr. Donald Curnutte was a Professor of Occlusion, Dr. Charles O’Grady was a Professor of Oral Diagnosis, and Dexter Smith was the Dental Materials Chief Technician. This year we had 25 students submit applications for these seven scholarships-
New Faculty Member
BOWERS.jpgDr. Charles Michael Bowers, a graduate of USCSD and a long time distinctive member of the faculty, who has worked closely for many years with Dr. Goldstein was granted faculty membership in OKU.
New Alumni Members
NEWALUMNI.jpgPast President, Dr. Stephen Sobel, assisted in the presentation of the new alumni members. After 4 years of trials and tribulations, these students have demonstrated remarkable academic and clinical performance in their dental education. It is a great accomplishment to sustain and achieve that level of dedication, desire and attainment over such an extended period. It was a pleasure to introduce the 22 new Alumni Members from the Class of 2006.
New Officers 2006-2007
The new officers for the coming year were introduced. They are as follows:
OFFICERS.jpgPresident: Harris Done, DDS
President-Elect: Timothy Saunders, DDS
Vice-President: Frank Yorita, DDS
Secretary-Treasurer: John L. Sanders, DDS
Past President: Donald Kornblau, DDS
Executive Assistant: Irene Reyna (not pictured)