Text Size

Charles Craig Award


The Omicron Kappa Upsilon – Charles Craig Teaching Award recognizes young dental educators who have demonstrated new and innovative teaching techniques in teaching the art, science and literature of dentistry. The award was created to encourage and honor individuals who have implemented innovative teaching techniques into dental education.

The goal of the award is to encourage young dental faculty to develop imaginative methods for teaching the art, science and literature of dentistry to dental students. The award will recognize individuals who have introduced creative methods that not only educate students but also motivate them to be life long learners and dental educators. This award will be given to faculty members early in their careers to recognize them as well as encourage other young faculty members. The award will also serve as a formal method for creative teachers to be recognized by peers at the national level.

The recipient will receive a certificate of recognition and a $1000 cash award.


Eligible candidates must be full time dental educators in an American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation accredited dental school. The candidate must have been a dental educator for not more than 7 years.

Application Process

  • Letters of solicitation will be distributed to deans of all dental schools approved by the ADA's Commission of Dental Accreditation.
  • Each school will develop its own nominating process. A nominee must be approved by both the dean of the dental school and the president of the school’s OKU chapter.
  • The dean and president of the OKU component chapter must submit letters of recommendation. In addition, the application must include a letter of support from one faculty member and one student who are familiar with the nominee's teaching. The letters should include:
    • a description of the individual's innovative teaching techniques
    • how his/her teaching has motivated and educated students
    • how his/her innovative teaching contributes to the school's curricula goals
    • how the individual has encouraged student scholarship and life long learning
    • how the teacher has motivated students to become dental educators
  • Applications will be forwarded to the selection committee by December 1 of the year prior to that particular OKU Supreme Chapter Annual Business Meeting.


The OKU Supreme Chapter Charles Craig Committee will serve as the selection committee. The selection committee will make its decision by January 1 of the year of the Supreme Chapter's Annual Business Meeting.

The award will be presented at the OKU Annual Business Meeting.

Past Recipients

2000: Dr. Thomas Salinas - (Louisiana State University School of Dentistry)
2001: Dr. Carol Murdock - (Creighton University School of Dentistry)
2002: Dr. Michael Ignelzi Jr. - (University of Michigan School of Dentistry)
2003: Dr. R. Scott Shaddy - (Creighton University School of Dentistry)
2004: Dr. Karl Keiser - (University of Texas, San Antonio)
2005: Dr. John W. Shaner - (Creighton University School of Dentistry)
2006: Dr. E. Richardo Schwedhelm - (University of Washington School of Dentistry)
2007: Dr. Benita Sobieraj - (University of Buffalo, S.U.N.Y.)
2008: Dr. Lucinda J. Lyon - (Universityof the Pacific)
2009: Dr. Nicole S. Kimmes - (Creighton University School of Dentistry)
2010: Dr. Rocio Quinonez - (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
2011: Dr. Paul G. Luepke - (Marquette University)
2012: Dr. Diane J. Flint - (Baylor College of Dentistry)
2013: Dr. Kelton T. Stewart - (Indiana University School of Dentistry)
2014: Dr. Dolores Cannella - (Stony Brook University School of Dental Medicine)
2015: Dr. Maria C. Cordero-Ricardo - (Stony Brook University School of Dental Medicine)